FSI Elects Valerie Brown, Richard Bryant to 2017 Board

July 19, 2016

Financial Advisor to Chair the Board in 2018

The Financial Services Institute (FSI) today announced the election of two new Directors for its Board for 2017: Valerie Brown, Executive Chairman of the Board, Advisor Group, and Richard Bryant, President, Capital Investment Brokerage. The Board also elected five of its Directors to leadership positions – including Dean Harman, who will be the second financial advisor to chair the Board in 2018.

 The Directors elected to the 2017 Executive Committee are:

  • Chair of the Board: Richard Lampen, President and CEO, Ladenburg Thalmann Financial Services
  • Vice Chair (Chair in 2018): Dean Harman, Founder and CEO, Harman Wealth Management
  • Immediate Past Chair: Amy Webber, President, Cambridge Investment Research
  • Finance Chair: John Rooney, Managing Principal, Commonwealth Financial Network
  • PAC Chair: David Knoch, President & COO, 1st Global

“Our strong and diverse Board will once again lead not only FSI but the entire industry forward into the future,” said FSI President & CEO Dale Brown. “Our critical advocacy agenda is more important than ever in the midst of both economic and regulatory uncertainty. I am also pleased that, for the second time, a financial advisor will chair our Board in 2018 as we further distinguish ourselves as the only trade association solely representing independent financial services firms and advisors.”

“It is an honor and a privilege to rejoin the Board of such a distinguished and well-respected organization,” said Valerie Brown. “I am confident that FSI will continue to constructively advocate for our industry and help us navigate the many challenges that face our outstanding independent financial advisors and the clients who we all serve.”

“There has never been a more critical time in our industry to be proactive and diligent,” said Richard Bryant. “The efforts of FSI and our members are paramount on the local, state and national levels. Successful advocacy is essential in today’s heavily regulated environment and I am honored to serve the needs of the industry and investors alike through FSI.”

“It’s been an honor to serve on the FSI Board and I look forward to becoming Vice Chair next year,” said Dean Harman. “When I become Chair in 2018, I will be the second financial advisor to do so, and it shows that FSI is fully committed to fighting for independent financial advisors. I look forward to continuing the incredible success that FSI and our members have achieved on behalf of investors and our members.”

Continuing on the Board: In addition to those elected to leadership positions, continuing on the Board are Adam Antoniades, Cetera Financial Group; Scott Curtis, Raymond James Financial Services; Kent Christian, Wells Fargo Advisors Financial Network; Bill Dowell (financial advisor); Joe Himelick (financial advisor); Tony Lajeunesse (financial advisor); Kimberly Kropp (financial advisor); Shawn McLaughlin, McLaughlin Ryder Investments; Seth Miller, Transamerica Financial Advisors; and James Poer, Kestra Financial.

Rolling off the Board: Steve Chipman, Foothill Securities; David Stringer, Prospera Financial Services.